Finalists for 2021 Aotearoa Music Awards

Finalists for 2021 Aotearoa Music Awards

A list of 36 finalists across 15 different categories has been announced for the 2021 Aotearoa Music Awards | Nga Tohu Pūoro o Aotearoa, which this year will be a live television event, filmed from Auckland’s Aotea Centre and screened on TVNZ 2 and TVNZ OnDemand.

No date has yet been announced but the event will take place in December or will be rescheduled to a date in early 2022 if Covid-19 restrictions prevent the ceremony from going ahead.

With four Tūī already on his shelf, Troy Kingi is a finalist across six categories this year, making him the frontrunner for 2021 awards. ‘The Ghost of Freddie Cesar’, Kingi’s fourth album of his 10/10/10 series, sees him a likely finalist for Album of the Year, while the song Sleep (Slumber) has Kingi also in line for Single of the Year. He is also a finalist for a Tūi as Best Solo Artist, Best Māori Artist and Best Soul/RnB Artist, on top of which comes a nomination for the Mana Reo award along with blues/roots trio The Nudge.

Nipping at Troy Kingi’s heels is another already acclaimed singer-songwriter Teeks (Te Karehana Gardiner-Toi) who is a finalist for five of the same awards this year. His potential haul includes Album of the Year (for ‘Something to Feel’), Single of the Year (Remember Me), Best Solo Artist, Best Māori Artist and Best Soul/RnB Artist.

Leading the way for Kiwi bands is L.A.B, finalists for four Tūī this year, also including Album of the Year (with ‘L.A.B. IV’), Single of the Year (for Why Oh Why), Best Group and Best Roots Artist. Also among the six finalists for the Album of the Year Tūī are the Finn-family version of Crowded House for ‘Dreamers are Waiting’, and The Phoenix Foundation for ‘Friend Ship’ –  both also finalists for Best Group.

Pop juggernaut Benee, who took home all four Tūī from her 2020 Aotearoa Music Award nominations, is this year again a finalist for Best Solo Artist and Best Pop Artist, along with Album of the Year for her debut studio album ‘Hey u x’.

And no surprise to find that Lorde is also in the mix for Single of the Year, with her album-introducing song Solar Power. Six60 (All She Wrote) and relative newcomer Harper Finn (Dance Away These Days) are the last of the six finalists for Single of the Year, Finn also a nominee as Breakthrough Artist of the Year.

Te Pukaemi o te Tau | Album of the Year

  • Benee: ‘Hey u x’
  • Crowded House: ‘Dreamers are Waiting’
  • L.A.B.: ‘L.A.B. IV’
  • The Phoenix Foundation: ‘Friend Ship’
  • Teeks: ‘Something to Feel’
  • Troy Kingi: ‘The Ghost of Freddie Cesar’

Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau | Single of the Year

  • Harper Finn: Dance Away These Days
  • L.A.B.: Why Oh Why
  • Lorde: Solar Power
  • Six60: All She Wrote
  • Teeks: Remember Me
  • Troy Kingi: Sleep (Slumber) 

Te Roopu Toa | Best Group

  • Crowded House
  • L.A.B. 
  • The Phoenix Foundation
  • Shapeshifter

Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa | Best Solo Artist

  • Anna Coddington
  • Benee
  • Teeks
  • Troy Kingi

Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau | Breakthrough Artist of the Year

  • Foley
  • Harper Finn
  • Muroki
  • Niko Walters 

Te Māngai Pāho Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa | Best Māori Artist

  • Mara TK
  • Teeks
  • Troy Kingi 

Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa | Best Pop Artist

  • Benee
  • Foley
  • LA Women

Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa | Best Alternative Artist

Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa | Best Soul/RnB Artist

  • Mara TK
  • Teeks
  • Troy Kingi

Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa | Best Hip Hop Artist

Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Roots Artist

Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Award

  • Rei
  • Te Nūtube
  • The Nudge & Troy Kingi

Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa | Best Electronic Artist

  • Paige Julia
  • Shapeshifter
  • Sola Rosa

Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa | Best Rock Artist

  • Dead Favours
  • Ekko Park
  • Mako Road 

Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa | Best Classical Artist

  • Claire Cowan
  • Justin DeHart
  • Tony Yan Tong Chen

Already Presented Tūīs:

Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Folk Artist

  • Winner: Tattletale Saints
  • Darren Watson
  • You, Me, Everybody

Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa | Best Country Artist

  • Winner: Tami Neilson
  • Jody Direen
  • Ryan Fisherman

Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa | Best Jazz Artist

  • Winner: The Jac
  • Lucien Johnson
  • Unwind

Te Kaipuoro Waiata Tamariki Toa | Best Childrens Artist

  • Winner: Fleabite
  • Chris Lam Sam
  • Music With Michal
support nzm