Taite Music Prize Finalists 2019

Taite Music Prize Finalists 2019

Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ) has announced the finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2019

This year’s ten finalists were selected from a list of 67 nominated artists/albums:

Listen on shuffle for a great mix:

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of New Zealand’s most respected music journalists, the award recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording.

More than half of the list are previous Taite Music Prize finalists returning with their latest albums. They include Julia Deans (previous finalist for her ‘Modern Fables’ album in 2011); Jonathan Bree (a finalist with ‘The Primrose Path’ in 2014); Marlon Williams (finalist for his self-titled debut album in 2016); Tami Neilson (finalist for her 2015 album ‘Dynamite!’); Tom Scott (previously a finalist with Homebrew’s self-titled album and @Peaces self-titled album – both in 2013, plus @Peace’s ‘Girl Songs’ in 2014 and the 2015 album ‘@peace and the Plutonian Noise Symphony’); and also UMO / Ruban Nielson (previous finalist for the album ‘II’ in 2014, ‘Multi-Love’ in 2016 and winners with the self-titled ‘Unknown Mortal orchestra’ album  in 2012).

This year sees the 10th anniversary of the Taite Music Prize. IMNZ GM Dylan Pellett says, “There has been so much artistic expression recorded on so many great New Zealand albums over the last ten years, and I can’t help but think that Dylan Taite would be proud of the quality and talent that this award acknowledges.”

Alongside the main prize, the IMNZ Classic Record Award will be presented at Auckland’s Q Theatre on Auckland April 16, as well as the newly created Independent Spirit Award – awarded to a NZer who assists our NZ musicians to grow and find their own unique pathways – and the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award.