Taite Music Prize 2021 Finalists announced

Taite Music Prize 2021 Finalists announced

Independent Music NZ (IMNZ) has announced the 10 finalist albums for the Taite Music Prize 2021.

Named after the late music journalist Dylan Taite, the Taite Music Prize highlights the outstanding New Zealand albums released in the past year. It is open to all genres of music and judged on artistic merit regardless of genre, sales, or record label. The winner will receive a cash prize of $12,500 thanks to Recorded Music NZ and NZ Music Commission

Also announced were the three finalists for the Best Independent Debut Award, the winner of which receives a $2000 cash prize plus a performance or technical upskilling opportunity courtesy of Auckland Live.

  • Amamelia – ‘WOW! ’
  • Dick Move – ‘Chop! ’
  • Na Noise – ‘Waiting For You’

The two awards will be presented on Tuesday, April 20th at Auckland’s Q Theatre, along with the yet to be announced Classic Record and Independent Spirit Award recipients. 

The ceremony also includes the presentation of the Independent Music NZ Classic Record award. This award acknowledges one New Zealand record released over 20 years ago on an independent label. These records, whether a 12”, a compilation, EP, or full-length album have become quintessential gold nuggets of our musical history.

Now in its third year, the Independent Spirit Award recognises and celebrates a New Zealander: someone who is passionate about NZ music; who’s ahead of the game in creativity, diversity, and imagination; and has dedicated themself to helping artists and the wider music community to grow and find their own unique pathways. The annual recipient is determined by the IMNZ Board.