Taite Music Prize 2020 Livestream

Taite Music Prize 2020 Livestream

The winner of the Taite Music Prize 2020 will be announced via livestream at 6.30pm on May 5 on Independent Music NZ‘s Facebook page or via Youtube (embedded below).

Out of 54 nominations, the following ten were chosen by an academy of industry judges:

  • Aldous Harding – ‘Designer’
  • Beastwars – ‘IV’
  • JessB – ‘New Views’
  • L.A.B. – ‘L.A.B. III’
  • Lawrence Arabia – ‘Lawrence Arabia’s Singles Club’
  • Louis Baker – ‘Open’
  • Mermaidens – ‘Look Me In The Eye’
  • Miss June – ‘Bad Luck Party’
  • Tiny Ruins – ‘Olympic Girls’
  • Troy Kingi – ‘Holy Colony Burning Acres’

The three finalists for the Best Independent Debut are:

  • Tom Ludvigson & Trevor Reekie – ‘Roto’
  • Repulsive Woman – ‘Relief’
  • Mousey – ‘Lemon Law’ 

Alongside the main prize, three additional awards will be presented at the ceremony: the Independent Music NZ Classic Record Award, the newly created Independent Spirit Award, awarded to a New Zealand person who assists our NZ musicians to grow and find their own unique pathways, and the Best Independent Debut Award, celebrating the freshest talent of Aotearoa. The winner receives a $2,000 cash prize.

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of New Zealand’s most respected music journalists, the award recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording.