2019 NZ Country Music Awards

2019 NZ Country Music Awards

It was a ‘wildfire’ heartwarming case of local-girl-does-good at the announcement of winners of the 2019 NZ Country Music Awards, held as part of the annual Gold Guitar Awards, in Gore on May 30. Jenny Mitchell received the Recorded Music NZ Best Country Music Artist title and Tui award, while Holly Arrowsmith was recognised with the APRA Best Country Song for her track Slow Train Creek. 

Gore’s own Jenny Mitchell began her career as a teenager and has released two albums. On the strength of her sophomore release ‘Wildfires’ she has a Tui to enhance her trophy cabinet, which already features a Gold Guitar Award and MLT Songwriting trophyReleased in late 2018, ‘Wildfire’ was crowdfunded and recorded in Australia with production by Matt Fell. She has toured to promote the album in Europe and Australasia.

Best Country Song winner Holly Arrowsmith previously won a folk Tui for her first album ‘For The Weary Traveller’ in 2016. Also crowdfunded, her second album ‘A Dawn To Remember’, which was recorded between a cottage in the coastal town of Colac Bay and The Sitting Room recording studio in Lyttelton with producer Ben Edwards.

Australia-based Kerryn Fields won the MLT Songwriting Award for her song Mamma, ahead of others including Tami Neilson, Jenny Mitchell, Miller Yule and Kendall Elise Todd.

Best Country Music Album award

  • WINNER: Jenny Mitchell – ‘Wildfires’
  • Jamie McDell – ‘Extraordinary Girl’
  • Tami Neilson – ‘Sassafrass!’

Best Country Music Song award

  • WINNER: Holly Arrowsmith – Slow Train Creek
  • Jamie McDell – Paint On A Sign
  • Tami Neilson – Manitoba Sunrise at Motel 6