2020 Arts Foundation Laureates

2020 Arts Foundation Laureates

The 2020 Arts Foundation Laureate Award celebrates New Zealand’s most outstanding practising artists, whose mahi is having a significant impact in our country, giving them support to make more great work for the future.

Selected by an independent panel, seven Arts Foundation Laureates this year join the one hundred strong collective of artists recognised by The Arts Foundation Te Tumu Toi over the past 20 years. Among the seven are two well known contemporary musicians:

Shayne Carter received an award for music and literature. 
‘One of New Zealand’s most iconic musicians, rock god and author, famously known for his part in the post-punk music scene. Carter has inspired generations of music lovers, music makers and many in his community, he is recently an award-winning author.’

Ariana Tikao received the Jillian Friedlander Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa Award as a singer, composer and taonga pūoro player.
‘Tikao is a leading player of the taonga pūoro, bringing to life ancestral stories through song. Writing waiata that explore themes relating to her Kāi Tahu identity and mana wahine, Tikao often draws upon historical kōrero from her ancestors.’