2020 Smokefree Rockquest National Final Results

2020 Smokefree Rockquest National Final Results

Red Wav from Aorere College and Marcellin College in Auckland have been crowned winners of the 2020 Smokefree Rockquest National Final, with this year’s event streamed live as an online showcase. 

The line up of Red Wav is Jesica Siva (vocals), Andrew Faiai (keyboard), Culistofa Petelo (drums), Gene Sipaoa (bass), Taula Timoteo (harmonica, synth), and Jes Silva (keyboard and percussion). Haven from Wakatipu High School came in second, while Sandtrap from Rangitoto College placed third.

The Solo/Duo Category was won by siblings Ben and Brody Glanfield from Rangitoto College in Auckland. Brody says that the duo who were also finalists last year, have bonded strongly over music. “For us music is a passion. When we work together everything comes easy.” Second place went to Harry Mason from Havelock North High School while Helena from Hutt Valley High School won third place.

Other awards announced at the national final included:

Best Song Award

Ben and Brody, from Rangitoto College

Electronic-assisted Performance Award

Helena, from Hutt Valley High School

Musicianship Award

Bella Bavin from Ragaire, and Harrison Maguire from Haven

Lyric award

Ruby Aitkenhead and Ella Whibley, from Gisborne Girls HS for their song Round and Round

Best Vocals award

Kainoa Ogilvie, from Sandtrap

Entrants in Smokefree Rockquest competed in their regions over winter from Invercargill to Whangarei. The national finalists were selected from videos sent by the regional winners and judged by a panel from the NZ music industry.

The judges on the night were Jeff Newton (NZ on Air), Ross Flahive (Creative Director ZM/Flava) and Heidi Ettema (Mushroom Music Publishing), Hamish Jackson (NZ Rockshop), and musicians Elizabeth Stokes (The Beths), and Julia Deans.