Play It Strange 2022 Winners

Play It Strange 2022 Winners

Winners of the Play It Strange 2022 competitions have been announced, with 11 awards to be presented to secondary school students at a ceremony in Auckland at the end of November.

2022 Songwriting Competition

Grace Lawrence from St Andrews College, Christchurch for Differently Now

David Richwhite Lyric Award

Chris Rowe from Kaipara College, Auckland, for Drowning In The Stars

Junior Maioha Award

Taniko Rangihau from Gisborne Girls’ High School for Te Rewanga o Matariki

Youthtown Songwriting Competition Aotearoa

Naimah Manchanda from Lynfield College, Auckland for Sugar And Spice

Youthtown Songwriting Competition Aotearoa, Auckland/Northland Region

Leigh Edmeades from Albany Senior High School for Streetlights.

Youthtown Songwriting Competition Aotearoa, Rest Of North Island Region

Arohea Pewhairangi, Omaio Waititi, Mahara Kururangi, Honore Ingle, Ihaka Hongara, Whaiururangi Maxwell from Horouta Wananga, Gisborne for Ka Hoki Nei Au

Youthtown Songwriting Competition Aotearoa, South Island Region

Jenny Petegem-Thach and Jazz Mackie from Taieri College for Endless Time

Peace Song Competition Winner

Tetini Pokoati and Ripeka Akurangi from Gisborne Girls High School for Te Aroha

School of the Year Award – for the most finalist songs

Gisborne Girls’ High School

Strange Art Award Winner

Alia Cauty from Long Bay College, Auckland with their work Conspiranoid for ‘Play It Strange Lion Foundation Songwriting Competition’ album artwork

The Play It Strange Trust will hold its annual awards event at Tuning Fork, Auckland on 30 November. Alongside CEO Mike Chunn guest presenters will include Don McGlashan and Jol Mulholland, with performances by this year’s winners.