APRA Professional Development Awards 2019

APRA Professional Development Awards 2019

Applications for the APRA Professional Development Awards 2019 are open now. The biennial awards exist to provide support to emerging songwriters and composers.  

Applications are now open across three categories: Popular Contemporary (which covers pop, rock, metal, blues, folk, country hip hop and R&B); Film and Television (includes Gaming); and Classical.

Applications for the awards close July 1, 2019.

Each recipient will receive a $10,000 cash prize to support their development.

It is expected that the funds will help recipients attend workshops, music education courses, composer seminars, co-writing sessions and other relevant activities – locally or internationally.

More info here.

In 2017, awards went to Claire Cowan, Clovis McEvoy and Chelsea Jade, while artists such as Mara TK, Karl Steven, Nick Gaffaney, Miriam Clancy, Grayson Gilmour and Jessica Hansell aka Coco Solid have received the award in the past.