New Music Pasifika 2020 Funding Decisions

New Music Pasifika 2020 Funding Decisions

NZ On Air has announced the New Music Pasifika 2020 funding decisions with two dozen artists out of 95 applicants to receive funding. That’s almost twice the number of applications received for the inaugural New Music Pasifika round held in February last year.

Impressively nineteen of the 24 newly funded acts are new recipients of NZ On Air funding. Each will receive funding of up to $8,000 for their single, which can cover costs of recording, video content and promotion for the public release of the song. As a result of the recent government announcement of additional funding for music, NZ On Air have also said they expect to run at least another two New Music Pasifika focus rounds in the next 18 months, with more details on timing for those to be announced.

The 24 New Music Pasifika recipients for May/June 2020 are:

  • Alimitt feat. Jagarizzar x Tiddas – Inanay – The Tribute
  • AnthemJoy feat. Marley Sola & David Ware
  • Diggy DupéHype
  • FoundationStart Love Over
  • HawkinsCan’t Leave It Alone
  • Iybzee & IybzayDoes She Really Want Me?
  • JarnaI’m Fine
  • JuwanHome
  • LeoMerryGoRound
  • Lomez BrownFeel the Motion
  • MalSay – Ne Pehe Mai
  • Raggadat CrisFoki Mai
  • Sam V X bKIDDCruisin’
  • Samson Squad – Taku Vaine
  • Sapphire MatāfaiDilemma
  • SemaReal
  • Shepherds ReignAiga (Toe Fo’i)
  • Tazman JackMyself
  • The MitisSee You Again
  • TJ Taotua – You And I
  • Tone6 – Another Level Of Emotion
  • TreeAfio Ane Loa
  • Village90To The Wire
  • VilletteAngle

The New Music Pasifika 2020 funding selection panel included Lui Vilisoni of Pacific Media Network; Petrina Togi-Sa’ena of Pacific Music Awards Trust; Callum Butter of Mai FM; Tana Tupai of MMF and Nicole Rex of NZ On Air.