First New Music Development Funding Results

First New Music Development Funding Results

NZ On Air Music announced the first batch of recipients for the New Music Development funding scheme this week.

Launched in October this year, the new scheme is a result of extra investment from Government through the Arts Recovery Package. The funding is focused on the art of songwriting and creation of new works. For this inaugural round there 76 were applications by producers pitching their plans to help develop the songwriting and sound of new and emerging NZ artists.
 The scheme invests in producer/artist partnerships allowing those collaborations to spend time crafting and experimenting, without expectation of a release-ready song at the end of the process. The deliverables required for New Music Development grant recipients are three demo recordings, some of which may be able to go on to form the basis for a New Music Single application.
There will be 4 New Music Development rounds in 2021, with deadlines on January 14, March 18, August 5 and October 7. Acknowledging a low amount of female and gender non-binary producer applicants in this inaugural round. NZ On Air say they are making a particular effort to encourage applications from these producers. Congratulations to the 27 music producers granted up to $6000 in this round to work with emerging NZ artists in the coming months…

  • Anonymouz
  • Ben Edwards
  • Ben Malone
  • Caleb Nott
  • Devin Abrams
  • Elena Šiljić
  • Estère Dalton
  • Graham Gilleberg
  • James Goldsmith
  • Joseph Corban-Banks
  • Josh Naley
  • Maree Sheehan
  • Mark Perkins
  • Marley Sola
  • Maude Minnie Morris
  • Noema Te Hau
  • Peter Ruddell
  • Rory Noble
  • Seth Haapu
  • Simon Oscroft
  • Sophie Bialostocki
  • Steven Marr
  • Struan Finlay
  • Te Omeka Perkins
  • Troy Kelly
  • Will Henderson
  • Woodcut Productions
support nzm