APRA Professional Development Awards

APRA Professional Development Awards

APRA invite musicians to apply for their biennial Professional Development Awards.

The grant is meant to help songwriters who show outstanding talent to reach their full potential.

Three winners will receive $10,000 cash each which can be used towards development activities like overseas travel to enable recipients to attend music education classes, participating in co-writing activities, song writing workshops, composer seminars and/ or other relevant opportunities.

Applications are now open across the following categories:

  • Popular Contemporary (which covers pop, rock, blues, folk, hip hop, R&B, country, jazz, EDM, and electronic work)
  • Classical
  • Film, Television, and Video

Previous New Zealand recipients of APRA Professional Development Awards include Jessica Hansell (aka Coco Solid), Mara TK, Grayson Gilmour, Karl Steven, Alex Taylor, and Samuel Holloway.

Applications close on May 1.

More information, an application form as well as terms and conditions can be found here.

NZMM 2022 Banner