4059_NZOA_2019 Funding Deadline Ad 900px 180px_FINAL4



by Silke Hartung

APRA Awards 2016

by Silke Hartung

APRA Awards 2016

Melbourne singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett was awarded Songwriter Of The Year Australian Performing Rights Association (APRA) Awards, which were held in Sydney on April 5.

A nod went to Kiwi producer Joel Little for co-writing Brisbane’s Jarryd James’ Do You Remember, which received an award for Best Pop Song. Both James and Little are managed by Kiwi Ashley Page (Broods)

Tame Impala frontman Kevin Parker won the Song Of The Year Award for Let It Happen from the band’s third album ‘Currents’.

The APRA awards honour songwriting and publishing, not unlike our Silver Scrolls, but extended to more categories.

Cold Chisel were presented with the Ted Albert Award for outstanding services to Australian music. Songwriter and pianist/keyboarder Don Walker accepted the award for the band, remembering their late drummer Steve Prestwich in his speech.

Apra Music Award Winners:
Song of the year – Let it Happen, Tame Impala
Songwriter of the year – Courtney Barnett
Ted Albert award for outstanding services to Australian music – Cold Chisel
Breakthrough songwriter of the year – Alex Hope
Overseas recognition award – Phil Barton
Most played Australian work overseas – Chandelier, Sia
Most played Australian work – Take Me Over, Peking Duk featuring Safia
Country work of the year – Spirit of the Anzacs, Lee Kernaghan
Blues & roots work of the year – Days of Gold, Busby Marou
Dance work of the year – Take Me Over, Peking Duk featuring Safia
Rock work of the year – Anchor, Birds of Tokyo
Pop work of the year – Do You Remember, Jarryd James/Joel Little
Urban work of the year – Cosby Sweater, Hilltop Hoods
International work of the year – Uptown Funk, Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars

support nzm