2022 Professional Development Award Winners

2022 Professional Development Award Winners

APRA have selected their 2022 Professional Development Award winners following two difficult years of Covid-19 restrictions.

Chosen from a pool of 70 applicants the six winners each receive $5000 to contribute toward the next phase of their career.

  • Katie Sharp (Composer, songwriter)
    Katie will utilise her PDA to expand her tertiary qualifications through a Game Audio Design and Production course with Berklee College of Music.
  • Jessica Leov Edwards (Composer, songwriter, music educator)
    Jessie will undertake an intensive mentorship in electro-acoustic composition with award-winning sonic artist Garling Wu.
  • Gabriel Everett (Songwriter, project manager, assistant music manager)
    Gabriel will embark on a range of international writing experiences and attend England’s The Great Escape conference and festival.
  • William Philipson (Composer, music editor)
    William will be working with six renowned Kiwi composers in Tāmaki Makaurau  and Te Whanaganui-a-Tara throughout 2023.
  • Joel Tashkof (Producer, composer)
    Enlisting the expertise of Grammy-nominated pianist, composer and producer Keifer Shackelford, Choicevaughan aims to become a self-sufficient composer. 
  • Tali Jenkinson (Songwriter)
    Vallé plans to undertake two intensive coaching mentorships, working with songwriter Marley Sola and jazz pianist Cameron Findlay.