NZMM 2022 Banner



2020 APRA Maioha Award Finalists Announced

2020 APRA Maioha Award Finalists Announced

Presented as part of the annual Silver Scroll ceremony the 2020 APRA Maioha Award recognises contemporary Māori songwriting, honouring composers who are telling their stories in te reo Māori.

This year’s finalist songs are:

  • Ūkaipō by Seth Haapu
  • Ka Mānu by Rob Ruha (performed by Bella Kalolo, Maisey Rika, Majic, Ria Hall, Rob Ruha, Seth Haapu, Troy Kingi, and The Witch Dr)
  • Whāia by Pere Wihongi, Meto-Tagivale Schmidt-Peke, Hoeata Maxwell-Blake, Awatea Wihongi, Te Kaaterama Pou, Mereana Teka, Raniera Blake, Puawai Taiapa, Nathaniel Howe and Tawaroa Kawana, (performed by Maimoa).

A finalist multiple times, Rob Ruha (Te Whānau a Apanui, Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Rongowhakaata, Tainui, Te Arawa, Ngā Ariki-kaipūtahi, Ngā Puhi) won the Maioha Award back in 2014 and again in 2016. His Ka Mānu is a waiata written in response to the dispute around Ihumātao, speaking of unity and peaceful resistance, and highlighting the issues of oppression for indigenous people around the world. The song brings together musicians from across Aotearoa for a stirring performance full of aroha and hope.

Also a previous finalist, Seth Haapu’s smooth and tender style is once again on show with his song Ūkaipō, exploring the path of awakening, reclamation, and restoration of identity. The powerful ballad draws influence from his Māori and Polynesian heritage.

Maimoa is a collective of 10 young Māori music artists who first made headlines in 2015 when they got to #2 on the New Zealand Charts. Their Whāia is a proud pop song encouraging people to embrace their unique qualities and celebrate their identity.

Judges for the 2020 APRA Maioha Award were Matai Rangi Smith, Ngatapa Black, Tama Waipara and Toni Huata. The award will be presented at Auckland Town Hall on Wednesday 14 October.

support nzm