Smokefree Tangata Beats 2023 Results

Smokefree Tangata Beats 2023 Results

On September 15, Te Whānau Puoro from Flaxmere College and Tamatea High School took first place of Smokefree Tangata Beats 2023 held at Q Theatre in Tāmaki Makaurau.

Shayne Te Kuru of Te Whānau Puoro said that winning was amazing. “This is honestly beyond what we wanted to achieve. Our main goal was to put out our message. We just want to get our message across that our generation, this generation, we are still aware of the impacts of what colonisation and land confiscation has upon us… We just want people to know that we are still here, and we will forever be here.”

The group’s line up is Shayne Te Kuru (vocals, pūtātara), Aroha Sellwood (vocals, guitar), Izrael Shields (guitar), Naiara Marshall (keys), Hohua Mitai-Price (bass) and Koha Sellwood (drums)

Smokefree Tangata Beats entrants include elements of Māori or Pasifika culture in their performance, and entrants competed over winter in 35 heats and finals nationwide. The judges were Petrina Togi-Sa’ena (Pacific Music Awards), Reuben Butler (Modern Māori Quartet), Lucky Lance (Team Dynamite), and Katrina Manu aka Tree.

Smokefree Tangata Beats 2023 Winners

  • 1st place band – Te Whānau Puoro – Flaxmere College, Tamatea High School
  • 2nd place – Mystery – Alfriston College
  • 3rd place – RecklessRutherford Junior High, Whanganui Intermediate
  • 1st place solo/duo – Twin Harmony, Shirley Boys High School
  • Musicianship award – Mystery (bass player) – Alfriston College
  • Smokefree Mana Wahine Award: Mahuika – Onslow College
  • NZ Music Commission Best Song: Knelle Marsters – Papatoetoe High School
  • Smokefree Best Vocal: Knelle Marsters – Papatoetoe High School
  • Te Reo Award: Mahuika – Onslow College
support nzm