February 2023 NewMusic Single Funding

February 2023 NewMusic Single Funding

NZ On Air Music have announced the February 2023 NewMusic Single funding results.

From the 203 applications for this round 34 will receive up to $10,000 in funding to support recording, video, and promotion costs. Fourteen of those artists are receiving NewMusic Single funding for the first time, with some having previously collaborated with established local producers via NZOA’s NewMusic Development scheme. 

The judging panel included Jana Te Nahu Owen [RNZ], Liam Donnelly [RDU], Lorraine Barry, Renee Jones [AudioCulture], Ross Flahive [ZM] and NZOA’s Jeff Newton.

The next NewMusic Single funding round will open on March 16, closing on March 30. More info can be found here. The NewMusic Single and NewMusic Kids application periods have been shortened in 2023, with applications now needing to be submitted within two weeks of the round opening.

Congratulations to everyone who received funding:

  • Bad Taste
  • Blake
  • Broods
  • D.C. Maxwell
  • Daily J
  • Dan Aux & Tiki Taane
  • Hanbee
  • Jazmine Mary
  • Jim Nothing
  • Jordyn With A Why
  • Jupita
  • LA Women
  • Liam K. Swiggs
  • Dusty & Ghos, Brandn Shiraz, Melodownz
  • Fable
  • Grecco Romank
  • Hales
  • Mikey Mayz
  • Mokotron
  • Neil Macleod
  • Pickle Darling
  • Ray Leslie
  • Sam Heselwood
  • Skilaa
  • Soaked Oats
  • Solo Ono
  • T.G. Shand
  • The Mitchell Twins
  • There’s A Tuesday
  • Thomston
  • Tomorrow People
  • Van Staden & Böhm
  • Will Swinton
  • Yahyah