Finalists for the 2024 Aotearoa Music Awards

Finalists for the 2024 Aotearoa Music Awards

Finalists for the 2024 Aotearoa Music Awards have been announced ahead of the ceremony to be held on May 30 at the Viaduct Events Centre in Tāmaki Makaurau.

With 13 finalists named in both the Album and Single Of The Year, and half a dozen in many other categories the artist list is a long one.

Stan Walker leads the Tūī charge with five finalist in five categories including  Album Of The Year, Single Of The Year (for I Am)  Best Solo Artist, Best Māori Artist, and Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo, recognising albums or singles with at least 50% te reo Māori content. 

Tom Scott fronts four nominations including Album and Single Of The Year for Avantdale Bowling Club’s album ‘Trees’, and another four with Haz Beats for their Home Brew album ‘Run It Back’. Marlon Williams is up for Album Of The Year, Single Of The Year, Best Solo Artist and Best Music Video Content for his self-directed Don’t Go Back video. Triple Tūī takers back in 2020 The Beths are finalists in three premium categories; Album Of The Year, Single Of The Year and Best Group.

Kaylee Bell’s 2023 Boots ‘N All breakthrough year is reflected with three nominations; for Best Solo Artist, Best Country Artist and Single Of The Year. 2023 Taite Music Prize winner Princess Chelsea is a finalist for Album of the Year, Best Solo Artist and Best Alternative Artist, while Mermaidens also have three winning chances as Best Alternative, Single Of The Year and Best Group. Amelia Murray aka Fazerdaze is up for Single Of The Year (Bigger), Best Solo Artist and Best Engineer alongside Emily Wheatcroft-Snape for her song Break! 

Being presented at this year’s AMA event rather than the Wellington Jazz Festival as in recent years, the Best Jazz Artist Tūī will go to either Clear Path Ensemble, Dave Wilson or Myele Manzanza. The Best Classical Artist trophy is also being awarded at AMA 24, with Michael Houstoun & Bella Hristova, Natasha Te Rupe-Wilson & Somi Kim, and the NZ String Quartet all up for the honour. And begging the question, ‘What the folk is up in Ōtautahi?’ all three finalists for Best Folk are from or based in Christchurch, namely Adam McGrath, Terrible Sons and Tom Lark.

2024 Aotearoa Music Awards Finalists

Te Tino Pukaemi o te Tau | Album of the Year

  • Avantdale Bowling Club – ‘Trees’
  • Coterie – ‘Coterie’
  • Erny Belle – ‘Not Your Cupid’
  • Home Brew – ‘Run It Back’
  • Leisure – ‘Leisurevision’
  • Marlon Williams – ‘My Boy’
  • Paige – ‘King Clown’
  • Princess Chelsea – ‘Everything Is Going To Be Alright’
  • Stan Walker – ‘All In’
  • The Beths – ‘Expert in a Dying Field’
  • Tiny Ruins – “Ceremony’
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra – ‘V’

Te Tino Waiata o te Tau | Single of the Year

  • Aaradhna – She
  • Avantdale Bowling Club – Friday Night At The Liquor Store
  • Corrella – Blue Eyed Māori
  • Coterie – Always Beside You (ft. Six60)
  • Fazerdaze – Bigger
  • Home Brew – Run It Back
  • Kaylee Bell – Boots ‘N All
  • L.A.B – Take It Away
  • Marlon Williams – Don’t Go Back
  • Mermaidens – I Like To Be Alone
  • Stan Walker – I Am
  • The Beths – Watching The Credits

Te Tino Kāhui Manu Taki o te Tau | Best Group

The Beths

  • Home Brew
  • Leisure
  • Mermaidens
  • Tiny Ruins
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra
  • Te Tino Reo o te Tau | Best Solo Artist
  • Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Fazerdaze
  • Kaylee Bell
  • Marlon Williams
  • Princess Chelsea
  • Stan Walker

Te Māngai Pāho Te Manu Taki Māori o te Tau | Best Māori Artist

  • Jordyn with a Why
  • Mohi
  • Rei
  • Stan Walker
  • Tuari Brothers

Te Mangai Pāho Mana Reo Award

  • Coterie – Purea/Cool It Down
  • Jordyn with a Why – He Rei Niho
  • Mohi – Me Pēhea Ra
  • Stan Walker – I Am
  • TAWAZ – He Aho
  • Tuari Brothers – Tuari ki te Ao

Te Manu Taki Tuawhenua o te Tau | Best Country Artist

  • Kaylee Bell
  • Matt Joe Gow
  • The Mitchell Twins

Te Manu Taki Tāhiko o te Tau | Best Electronic Artist

  • Amamelia
  • deepState
  • Elipsa

Te Taumata o te Pūkenga Oro | Best Engineer

  • Amelia Murray & Emily Wheatcroft- Snape – ‘Break!’ (Fazerdaze)
  • Simon Gooding – ‘King Clown’ (Paige)
  • Tom Healy & Alexandra Corbett – ‘My Boy’ (Marlon Williams)

Te Manu Taki Whanokē o te Tau | Best Alternative Artist

  • Grecco Romank
  • Mermaidens
  • Princess Chelsea

Te Manu Taki Ahurea o te Tau | Best Folk Artist

  • Adam McGrath
  • Terrible Sons
  • Tom Lark

Te Manu Taki Tuauki o te Tau | Best Classical Artist

  • Michael Houston & Bella Hristova
  • Natasha Te Rupe-Wilson & Somi Kim
  • New Zealand String Quartet

Te Manu Taki Ātete o te Tau | Best Hip Hop Artist

  • Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Diggy Dupé
  • Home Brew

Te Manu Taki Tautito o te Tau | Best Jazz Artist

  • Clear Path Ensemble
  • Dave Wilson
  • Myele Manzanza

Te Manu Taki Arotini o te Tau | Best Pop Artist

  • Foley
  • Georgia Lines
  • Paige

Te Manu Taki Rakapioi o te Tau | Best Rock Artist

  • Dead Favours
  • Midwave Breaks
  • Racing

Te Manu Taki Taketake o te Tau | Best Roots Artist

  • Corrella
  • Coterie
  • Sons of Zion

Te Manu Taki Manako o te Tau | Best Soul/RnB Artist

  • Aaradhna
  • Dallas Tamaira
  • Sam V

Te Taumata o te Kaiwhakaputa | Best Producer,

  • Christoph El Truento – ‘Trees’ (Avantdale Bowling Club)
  • Haz Beats – ‘Run It Back’ (Home Brew)
  • Tom Healy – ‘Ceremony’ (Tiny Ruins)

NZ On Air Te Taumata o te Ataata | Best Music Video Content

  • Anahera Parata – She (Aaradhna)
  • Connor Pritchard – All My Friends (No Comply ft. Wells*)
  • Marlon Williams – Don’t Go Back (Marlon Williams)

Te Taumata o te Toi | Best Album Artwork

  • Andrew McLeod – ‘The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor’ (Clementine Valentine)
  • Lily Paris West – ‘Mermaidens’ (Mermaidens)
  • Lily Paris West – ‘Expert In A Dying Field’ (The Beths)