2022 NZ Music Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

2022 NZ Music Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

APRA AMCOS will honour and celebrate the late Te Kumeroa Pēwhairangi QSM and Tuini Moetū Haangū Ngāwai with induction into the 2022 NZ Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka. 

Born 1910 in Tokomaru Bay, Tuini Ngāwai (Te Whānau-a-Ruataupare) composed over 200 waiata and action songs and was also a leader in revitalising Māori culture and identity. Tuini had a strong determination to restore Māori pride, involving herself in the Kotahitanga Movement alongside efforts to achieve greater recognition for the Treaty of Waitangi. As always, she had meaningful messages to convey about these kaupapa through songs such as Te Kotahitanga rā e.

Te Kumeroa Ngoingoi Pēwhairangi (Te Whānau-a-Ruataupare, Ngāti Porou), known affectionately as Ngoi, would carry on her aunt’s legacy as a leader, educator and lauded songwriter. This year marks 40 years since the conception of Poi E, Aotearoa’s unofficial anthem which was written by Ngoi and produced by Dalvanius Prime for Pātea Māori Club.

While best known for co-writing hits with high-profile Māori artists Prince Tui Teka and Dalvanius Prime, Ngoi is also deeply respected as a leader, spiritual bastion, and youth advocate, and is a profound influence on many current Māori songwriters.

The 2022 APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka will take place on Tuesday 18 October at Spark Arena, Tāmaki Makauarau.

support nzm