2022 Waiata Māori Music Award Winners

2022 Waiata Māori Music Award Winners

Aotearoa’s current heavyweight champs L.A.B claimed another belt of awards at the 2022 Waiata Māori Music Awards, held on September 9, at Toitoi Hawke’s Bay Arts & Events Centre in Hastings.

The unstoppable band won three trophies for Best Group, Best Single and Best Pop Album by a Māori Artist. Fast-rising hip hop star Rei was the only other multi-winner with his release ‘Enjoy the Ride Pt 1’ earning awards for both Best RnB Album and Best Hip Hop Album.

2022 Winners:

  • Te Tohu Kaipūoru Te Reo Māori Best Māori Album in Te Reo: Anna Coddington
  • Te Tohu Kaipūoru Aratini Māori Autaia Best Māori Pop Album: L.A.B – ‘L.A.B V’
  • Te Tohu Kaipūoru Māori Noho Taone Autaia Best Māori Urban Hip Hop Album: Rei – ‘Enjoy the Ride Pt 1’
  • Te Tohu Kaipūoru Māori Autaia Best Māori RnB Album: Rei – ‘Enjoy the Ride Pt 1’
  • Te Tohu Kōpaeroa Autaia Best Māori Urban Roots/Reggae Album: Come On Up – ‘Come On Up’
  • Te Tohu Manu Tioriori Tāne Autaia Best Māori Male Solo Artist: Kings
  • Te Tohu Manu Tioriori Wahine Autaia Best Māori Female Solo Artist: Huia Hamon
  • Te Tohu o te Waiata Māori Hira Best Song by a Māori Artist: L.A.B – Mr Reggae
  • Te Tohu o te Kaitito Waiata Māori Autaia Best Māori Songwriter: Coterie
  • Te Tohu Ataata Autaia Best Music Video by a Māori Artist: Hāni Dread  Kōkiri
  • Te Tohu Kōpae Irirangi Kaipūoru Māori o te Tau Radio Airplay Song of the Year by a Māori Artist: Six60
  • Te Tohu Kōpae Irirangi Kaipūoru Reo Māori o te Tau Radio Airplay Song of the Year by a Māori Artist in Te Reo Māori: Ka Hao featuring Rob Ruha 35
  • Te Tohu Rōpū Māori Autaia Best Māori Group: L.A.B
  • Te Tohu Kaipūoru Rangatahi Hou Emerging Artist Under 25 years: Faith Oriwia Henare Stewart aka Te Kura Huia & Ka Hao
  • Te Tohu Kaipūoru Pakeke Hou Emerging Artist Over 25 years: Mohi Allen

Kapa haka expert and educational leader Dr Te Rita Papesch was the recipient of the Keeper of Traditions award, Te Tohu Kaitiaki Tikanga Pūoru, while hip hop legend Hone Ngata, aka DJ Poroufessor was recipient of the award for Iconic Contribution to the Music Industry, Te Tohu o te Ahumahi Pūoru.

support nzm